Submissions

Submitted Papers and Workshop Attendees

Alphabetically arranged by last name of workshop attendee (name underlined).

Designing Style Matching Conversational Agents
Deepali Aneja, Daniel McDuff, Rens Hoegen, Mary Czerwinski
University of Washington, Seattle, USA; Microsoft Research, Redmond, USA; University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA
deepalia@cs.washington.edu

Chatbots as Moral and Immoral Machines: Implementing Artefacts in Machine Ethics
Oliver Bendel
Institute for Information Systems, School of Business FHNW, Windisch, Switzerland
oliver.bendel@fhnw.ch

Conversational Technologies Supporting Social Inclusion
Fabio Catania, Micol Spitale, Daniele Occhiuto, Franca Garzotto
Dipartimento di Elettronica, Informazione e Bioingegneria, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
fabio.catania@polimi.it

Chatting like a robot: the relationship between linguistic choices and users’ experiences
Ana Paula Chaves, Jesse Egbert, Marco Gerosa
Federal University of Technology–Paraná Campo Mourão, Brazil; Northern Arizona University, USA
anachaves@utfpr.edu.br

Using Conversational Agents To Support Learning By Teaching
Nalin Chhibber, Edith Law
University of Waterloo, Canada
nalin.chhibber@uwaterloo.ca

Lessons learned From Designing a Service Chatbot
Yucheng Jin, Liuxin Zhang, Qianying Wang, Ge Gao, Qicheng Ding
Lenovo Research, Beijing, China
gaoge1@lenovo.com

Make the Machine Speak “Right” — How We Refined Human-Machine Dialogue Strategy
Yajuan Han, Min Zhao, Xiang Ge, Moli Zhou, Jingming Wang, Daisong Guan
Baidu AI Interaction Design Lab, Beijing, China
gexiang@baidu.com

Success and Challenges with Task-Focused Chatbots
Jonathan Grudin, Richard Jacques
Microsoft, Redmond, USA
jgrudin@microsoft.com

Comparing Data from Chatbot and Web Surveys: Effects of Platform and Conversational Style on Survey Response Quality
Soomin Kim, Joonhwan Lee, Gahgene Gweon
Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea
soominkim@snu.ac.kr

Learning Social Strategies
Junwon Park, Fei-Fei Li, Ranjay Krishna, Michael Bernstein
Stanford University
ranjaykrishna@cs.stanford.edu

“Be Proud of the Bot that You Are!”: From a Chatbot Therapist to a Chatbot Patient
Minha Lee, Wijnand IJsselsteijn
Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, the Netherlands
M.Lee@tue.nl

Conversational agents for people with cognitive disabilities
Clayton Lewis
Coleman Institute for Cognitive Disabilities, University of Colorado
clayton.lewis@colorado.edu

Prototype Fidelity of Voice User Interfaces
Diana Löffler, Florian Oefner, Judith Dörrenbächer, Marc Hassenzahl
Ubiquitous Design, University of Siegen, Germany; Hult International Business School, USA
diana.loeffler@uni-siegen.de

A Multi-modal Approach to Concept Learning in Task Oriented Conversational Agents
Toby Jia-Jun Li, Tom M. Mitchell, Marissa Radensky, Brad A. Myers
Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA; Amherst College, Amherst, MA
tobyli@cs.cmu.edu

Developing Coherent Fallback Strategies for Open-domain Conversational Agents
Ioannis Papaioannou, Oliver Lemon
Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK
i.papaioannou@hw.ac.uk

Artificial Spontaneity: What stand-up comedy can teach conversational agents
Vanessa Pope, Rebecca Stewart, Elaine Chew
Queen Mary University of London, London, UK; Imperial College London, London, UK
v.c.pope@qmul.ac.uk

Insights from Conversational User Interface Projects
Stefan Schaffer, Norbert Reithinger
German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), Berlin, Germany
stefan.schaffer@dfki.de

User Perceptions of Voice Assistants in the United States, France & Germany
Janice Tsai, Jessica Colnago, Jofish Kaye, Kai Lukoff
Mozilla Corporation, Mountain View, CA; Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA; University of Washington, Seattle, WA
janice@mozilla.com

Guiding Attention with Tasks and Emotions in Conversational Agents
Alex C. Williams, Edith Law, Harmanpreet Kaur, Edward Lank
University of Waterloo, Canada; University of Michigan; USA
alex.williams@uwaterloo.ca